top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Lasquety

Jhalanie

Updated: Jan 2, 2020




"Ako po si Jhalanie Lava Matuan at isa pong Homeless Artist sa Makati. Humihingi po ako ng kaunting tulong parapo mabentahan ang aking artworks. Hindi po ako namamalimos, bagkus tulungan niyo po ako mabenta ang aking mga painting. Isang linggo na po kami di kumakain..."


I was exhausted from sleep deprivation due to my thesis plus daily commute, when I stumbled upon Jhalanie at Santolan station. Her paintings are bright and colorful renderings of landscapes of a self-taught artist. She even brought her brushes with her. I asked if I can buy one of her paintings the following day since I had only enough money to go home that day. Unfortunately she said she was only there for that day and she never stays in one place for so long. Nevertheless, thank you for being an inspiration of resilience and resourcefulness.

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page