top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Lasquety

Alunsina: The Unmarried One

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

The following is an excerpt an article I wrote for The Aswang Project, Modern Interpretations of the Tungkung Langit and Alunsina Story, where I break down the theoretical framework of theater productions and my own adaptations of Tungkung Langit and Alunsina. It is taken from my research promoting Philippine mythology through interactive art as a tool for storytelling. If you are not familiar with the story, you may read it here.


Photo inspiration taken from "Alunsina Takes a Walk in the Rain", by Conchita Cruz

“By stating difficult truths the main character might not put words to, or exposing key elements of back story that the main character may have wished to leave in the past, supporting characters may provide essential information that can turn the direction of the narrative.They can also offer new perspectives on the story’s principal themes” (Rosenberg, 2009).

Alunsina’s moniker certainly gives one a sense of an origin story. This name was attributed to her from the beginning of the story before the conflict began to unfold. It tells us that even before she took part in Tungkung Langit’s story, she was already living on her own. Yet how does this title remain relevant after she is married?


What this name might say about Alunsina is that she is her own person. She is not one in mind with Tungkung Langit, and so she decided to send the breeze to spy on Tungkung Langit. She couldn’t have come to him on her own for fear that she would get caught. This reveals that she does not know Tungkung Langit well enough to trust him. Therefore Tungkung Langit’s accusation of Alunsina’s jealousy may have been an attempt to mask feeling offended by her lack of faith in him.


However, by the same token, the pain of this accusation may be the reason Alunsina never returned. “Alunsina Takes a Walk in the Rain” by Conchita Cruz explores this. Alunsina is the persona in the poem, and it is full of contradictions. She begins by saying “It is difficult to miss you… I stay away from the windows”, and later on proceeds with “I will soak myself in your tears. It is difficult not to miss you”, and finally concludes with “I cannot forgive you”. Though she expresses that she had genuine love for him, she has yet to come to the end of herself, because she holds on to her pride to protect herself from getting hurt.


"Alunsina Takes a Walk in the Rain" by Conchita Cruz


"It is difficult to miss you in the summer, your voice written all over the clear night sky, the stars mapping out your single instruction: go home. Each night, I keep my eyes on the shadow of my open umbrella. I stay indoors, stay away from windows.


"Today the news tells me you are scheduled to be lonely. I part my windows and look up.


"Later when the roads are slippery with your sadness, I will put on my shoes and soak myself in your tears. It is difficult not to miss you when the evening sky is speechless, when your sadness travels down your cheeks like a request.


"I cannot forgive you. That day, if you had not refused, I would have given you a present. I would have carved my love in stone."


Others may read the conflict between Tungkung Langit and Alunsina as unbecoming of a benevolent god. However, part of wanting the best for Alunsina would require intolerance to unacceptable behavior, even if it hurt her.


32 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page